Bathroom Finished

Hey Everyone,

The last thing I was going to add to the bathroom scene was a few toothbrushes. However, because I am rendering the scene in cycles, I cannot use hair particles. 😦 They are hopefully integrating hair into cycles by the end of 2012, so I have to wait until then. So now I am on to my next project, a bedroom. Just modeling a bedroom isn’t extremely difficult, but I am also going to be adding physics to the scene (specifically the bed). That makes it a whole different ball game, and I am really excited to start playing.

I have a rough bed modeled already, and you can see that below. I will keep you guys updated on my project, and when I am finished, I am going to put out a tutorial on how to properly use the cloth and soft body physics engines to create a realistic bed. Also, I am rendering this in blender internal, so I can get pretty fast results on what the render looks like, instead of waiting for hours to get a nice photo with cycles. Hope you all like it! (Click to enlarge photo).

2 responses

  1. The bedspread looks pretty darn good, nice random lumpiness. The post need work – the UV mapping of the right most post is out of whack. Plus, if you’re going to the effort of the realism of cloth and soft bodies, at least bevel the wood so the edges of the wood are softer. Pillows are too stiff, uniform, and the mattress could use some texture. Great start!

    January 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    • Haha thanks, as I said, this is very early on, and I just threw a texture onto the posts without really messing with any settings. I consider things such as beveling “finishing touches,” so I will get to those after I have figured out everything else. 🙂 Also, I am working hard on the pillows, and they are giving me a ton of trouble :/ Thanks for the tips though, I hope you get a chance to keep up with my progress on this project!

      January 14, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

